RSS

Suffering with Christ – May 2

02 May
  • “The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him, that we may also be glorified together. For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.” Romans 8:16-18

Do we understand what it means to suffer for the cause of Christ? The ease of life in Western civilization can be, and often is, a massive hindrance to a faithful walk with Jesus. It often diminishes the suffering of Christ along so many great Saints of the past. The Gospel requires men to die with Christ on that glorious cross, to crucify the flesh daily. If the Gospel does not create in us discomfort, whether in flesh or in spirit, it is time to return to Calvary and die with Christ. The temporary pain pales in comparison with the coming glory, this is His promise. 

I myself was later in prison together with souls whom God had helped me to win for Christ. I was in the same cell with one who had left behind six children and who was now in prison for his Christian faith. His wife and children were starving. He might never see them again. I asked him, “Have you any resentment against me that I brought you to Christ and because of this your family is in such misery?” He said, “I have no words to express my thankfulness that you have brought me to the wonderful Savior. I would never have it another way.”  Richard Wurmbrand, Tortured for Christ

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2012 in Daily Thoughts, May, Persecution

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Suffering with Christ – May 2

  1. Scott Sholar

    May 2, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    Thank you for sharing, and God bless you. Here is my latest post: http://scottsholar.com/2012/04/29/power/

     
    • Jacob

      May 3, 2012 at 9:14 pm

      Hi Scott, I hope the post encouraged you. I will check out your blog tonight.
      In Christ,
      -Jacob

       

Please Leave a Reply